Soot Sprites

I love the Soot Sprites from the Studio Ghibli films!  So much so, that I decided they should have their own little painting.  This one is inspired by the scene in “Spirited Away” in which the Soot Sprites are carrying colorful star-shaped candies.  The Soot Sprites bring a comedic element to the Miyazaki films and turn something that could be dirty and unwanted (like “dust bunnies”) into something cute and funny.

I have included Soot Sprites in some of my other new pieces, too.  You’ll find a few hidden among the flowers in my painting “Friends in the Forest.”  Plus, there will definitely be some hidden Soot Sprites in a Totoro-themed piece I created for an upcoming charity event.  I’ll post more on that soon!

Leave a Reply

