“Neil Makes Me a Tree”

“Neil Makes Me a Tree” is a painting I completed last year (2016) for a Stardust-themed art show at God’s and Monsters here on Orlando, FL.  This piece is significant to me for a few reasons and I’ll do my best to explain.  Besides the fact that it is the largest painting I’ve ever created (it measure 30″x40″), it is inspired by the book/graphic novel Stardust written by my favorite living author, Neil Gaiman.

In the book Stardust, Neil Gaiman includes a character inspired by his friend Tori Amos.  She is a beautiful tree with red leaves who helps the lead character on his journey.  As a HUGE fan of Tori Amos as well, I wanted to create a piece of art that paid tribute to the incredible friendship of Neil and Tori.  Painting the tree from Stardust seemed like a no-brainer.

The title comes from a lyric to one of Tori’s songs.  In the song “Horses” from the album “Boys for Pele,” Tori sings the line “And if there is a way to find you I will find you, but will you find me if Neil makes me a tree?”  Incidentally, the album “Boys for Pele” celebrated it’s 20th anniversary in 2016, so for me, that adds another level of meaning to this painting.

Leave a Reply

