Basquiat & Haring

As you know, I am debuting a new lecture series – Modern Art Madness vol. 2! – this spring with the Winter Garden Art Association.  Needless to say, I have been up to my eyeballs in research and Power Point presentations.

Session 3 of this new series is dedicated to the art of the 1980’s in NYC and specifically to the work of Jean-Michel Basquiat and Keith Haring.  Since I’ve had Basquiat and Haring on the brain a lot lately, it quite literally made me stop in my tracks when I saw these.

Upon visiting my local Target recently, I got a jolt when I saw two sweatshirts carrying the iconic designs of both Basquiat and Haring hanging side-by-side on a clothing rack.  I was speechless!  Has our current nostalgia for all things “80’s” finally spread to include the art world of the 1980’s and not just the pop culture?  Time will tell and I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for more evidence!

For more information on my upcoming lecture on the art world of 1980’s NYC, please visit…

Lecture – Modern Art Madness, v2.3

 

Leave a comment