Kusama Tribute #4 (Love is Calling)

Today I’d like to share another piece in my tribute series.  This painting is dedicated to Yayoi Kusama and her immersive installation piece, “Love is Calling.”  As you know from following this blog, I have already created a few Kusama-inspired pieces, but this is the largest one yet measuring 12″ x 24″ in size.

I truly enjoy the challenge of translating a three dimensional art installation into a two dimensional painting while attempting to retain Kusama’s signature style.  The key is to replicate the feeling of being in one of her infinity rooms, in this case, the “Love is Calling” room.  My personal experience inside the room was one of paradox – while the idea is that being surrounded by mirrors creates the optical illusion of infinite space, I never once felt isolated, alone or even insignificant.  In fact, I felt safe and secure, enveloped by colorful tentacles that came down from the ceiling and came up from the floor.

For more information on Yayoi Kusama’s “Love is Calling,” please visit…

https://www.icaboston.org/exhibitions/yayoi-kusama-love-calling

Leave a comment