My Covid Classics – #8

The Wandering Art Historian book club met last week to discuss Lydia Cassatt Reading the Morning Paper by Harriet Scott Chessman.

This slim tome packs a mighty emotional punch that seems to resonate even more profoundly in 2020, despite the story being set in 1878. Told from the perspective of Mary Cassatt’s sister and frequent model, Lydia, this novel is inspired by five paintings Mary completed with her sister as the primary model. It is a loving and touching depiction of sisters who care deeply for each other and need each other more than they realize.

Please enjoy my #CovidClassics reinterpretation of the painting that inspired the title of this book. Be aware that I made a few edits to make it more relevant to our current situation.

“Lydia Cassatt Reading the Morning Paper,” Mary Cassatt, 1878-1879

“Adrienne Lee Reading the Morning News,” Adrienne H. Lee, 2020

One thought on “My Covid Classics – #8

  1. You really nailed this one! I love the expression on your face. It’s how all of us feel most mornings when we wake to the latest COVID news. Thanks for giving me a smile.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment